New Chairman for PSPS

Members will no doubt be interested in the following announcement that was posted on the PSPS web site on 13th March:


Following the withdrawal of Balmoral, and aimed at strengthening the way in which the PSPS supports Waverley’s operations, Douglas McGowan and Terry Sylvester return to key positions within our Society. Members will remember Douglas and Terry, along with Capt David Neill were the three stalwarts who masterminded Waverley’s entry into operational preservation back in 1973. Additionally Terry planned (in association with the Masters) timetables for the whole of Great Britain and Isle of Man and Southern Ireland together with fares, advertising and passenger management etc., and was closely associated with arrangements for Balmoral’s return to service. Douglas has become interim Chairman of the PSPS following Myra Allen’s decision to stand down, and Terry becomes the PSPS nominated Director of Waverley Excursions Limited and Waverley Steam Navigation Limited, in Myra’s stead. Noel Kemp (Chairman of Bristol Channel Branch) joins Terry as the other PSPS nominated Director of Waverley Excursions Limited taking over the finance watching brief on the Board, enabling Martin Longhurst to concentrate on his other important role as Treasurer of the PSPS.